Blogger Interview! Secret Doors

Well, this week the blogger I am interviewing is someone I find truly inspiational. Her blog is so beautifully written, as well as being thoughtful and of course fashionable! You seriously have to read it (click on the banner and it’ll take you there!)

Why did you start blogging and where did the name come from?
I started blogging in order to share my experiences in recovery from anorexia, hoping that, just maybe, I could help other girls and spread my story along the way. The name just came to me; Secret Doors is another way to describe all the unknown facets of yourself as a human being, yet to be discovered. This blog is a big self-discovery kind of experience and I think the name Secret Doors is extremely appropriate for the situation.

What one word would you use to describe your blog?
Real. I’m not one to say “look at me, I’m perfect, I never have a bad day”, because that is the farthest from the truth. Hopefully by reading my blog people see that they aren’t weird for not dressing up every day, or that they aren’t a failure for simply feeling fat, or changing their minds every two seconds. My blog is the epitome of a hormonal, REAL girl, not someone pretending to have a flawless life.

What is your favorite thing about the Blogging world?
The support is amazing. There are so many kind, special people out there who will never let you fall without speaking their words of wisdom and are always there to back you up. Relationships built in the blogging world are far more sincere than what one might think. Another thing I love about the blogging world is the inspiration you can get from other bloggers and commenters. Whether it be fashion, photography, recovery, or life in general, there are so many ideas and ways to expand your horizons just by simply taking a look at some blogs that are out there.

Where do you find most of your inspiration?
In every day life. I like to find the beauty or just plain fascination in simple things, then I convert them into ideas for a post. Sometimes my posts aren’t anything too themed and special, but everyone has days like that.

Who is your style icon?
I absolutely love Audrey Hepburn (if you could only see my room and all the art that takes up the walls) and Alexa Chung is another favorite. I like classic with a little bit of an eclectic twist.

If you had a $1 million what would you buy?
Obviously I’d go to NYC and drop some serious cash shopping ;) But I’d probably also take entire my family and friends to some fabulous, exotic destination for a relaxing vacation.

What is your favorite item in your wardrobe?
Skirts, skirts, skirts. Oh how I love them. They are perfect for all seasons, worn with the right accessories, and accentuate my waist perfectly. They are comfy and feminine and I can’t help but feel pretty when I have one on!

Who is your favorite designer?
oh no! there are so many to choose from and so many that inspire me. I guess I would say that I love chanel (who doesn’t), michael kors, marc jacobs, tory burch, and I could go on and on.

What are you essential fashion reads?
I love Blue is in Fashion this Year, Style Scrapbook, and WhoWhatWear :)

Hope you enjoyed it!

Love Philli

xxx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogger Interview! Secret Doors

  1. kristy says:

    another great interview philli! i’m going to check out secret doors right now. =)

  2. walkthesand says:

    Lovely interview, and thanks for letting me discover her blog!
    x

Leave a Reply

